Legacy BioDesign Home

Recent News and Events

Dr. Derrick Katayama joined Legacy in July of 2015 as Principal Scientist. Previously Dr. Katayama held positions at Amylin, MedImmune, and Boehringer Ingelheim.

Dr. Joshua Stillahn joined Legacy as Scientist in 2016, after working in the integrated circuit industry. We are glad to have both John and Derrick working with us.

Dr. Ryan Holcomb was promoted to Principal Scientist, effective January 1, 2018.

According to ResearchGate, Dr. Manning had 1840 reads of his publications in 2015 and his work was cited 316 times in 2015 alone (over 7000 times overall). In addition, he has over 4000 reads on ResearchGate.

The review article, “Stability of Protein Pharmaceuticals: An Update”, published by Legacy scientists in 2010, has now been cited almost 300 times. It is recognized by Web of Science as a Highly Cited Article, of which only 1% are so designated.

As of July/August 2018, this highly cited paper  (Manning et al., “Stability of Protein Pharmaceuticals : An Update, Pharm. Res, 2010, 27: 544-575) received enough citations to place it in the top 1% of the academic field of Pharmacology & Toxicology based on a highly cited threshold for the field and publication year.

The review article on buffers written by Legacy scientists (Zbacnik et al., J. Pharm. Sci. 2017, 106: 713-733) was listed as being of outstanding interest in a review article by Baek and Zydney, Current Opinion in Biotechnology 2018, 53: 59-64)

Ryan Manning heads Great Lakes Bio Design (Charlotte, MI), with a focus on AF4 method development and analysis of biopharmaceuticals. Great Lakes BioDesign (GLB) began operation in January of 2014. As part of our distributed analytical network, GLB has already contributed to more than a dozen different projects since its inception.

Our partnership with West Coast BioDesign (WCB) has focused on improving the methodology for characterization and quantitation of subvisible particles (SVPs). WCB has contributed to over twenty different projects conducted at Legacy, providing our clients with valuable insight into particulate formation.

Glenn Wilson from WCB and Mark Manning published a summary of their observations about flow imaging techniques and what needs to be done to establish the best practices for this important methodology. The article is called “Flow Imaging: Moving Towards Best Practices for Subvisible Particle Quantitation in Protein Products”, Glenn A. Wilson and Mark Cornell Manning, J. Pharm. Sci. 2013, 102: 1133-1134.

All three companies in our strategic network (Legacy, WCB, and GLB) are focused on developing the best practices for evaluating aggregates and subvisible particles. Recently, we published a review of orthogonal methods to size exclusion chromatography (SEC): “Review of Orthogonal Methods to Size Exclusion Chromatography (SEC) for Quantitation and Characterization of Protein Aggregates”, Ryan R. Manning, Ryan E. Holcomb, Glenn A. Wilson, Charles S. Henry, and Mark Cornell Manning, BioPharm Intl. 2014, 27(11): 32+.

Ryan Manning from GLB presented at the International Conference on Field-Flow Fractionation, Dresden, Germany, May 2016. His talk is entitled “Use of AF4 to Study Peptide Aggregation” by Ryan R. Manning, Robert W. Payne, Brian M. Murphy, Ryan E. Holcomb, Derrick S. Katayama, Glenn A. Wilson, and Mark Cornell Manning at the International Conference on Field-Flow Fractionation, Dresden, Germany, May 2016.

In addition, Legacy, GLB, and WCB presented a poster at the same meeting:
“Use of AF4 to Study the Conformation and Stability of Interferon-tau”, Ryan R. Manning, Ryan E. Holcomb, Auria Tellechea, Ryan J. Krammes, Nathan S. Krammes, Glenn A. Wilson, and Mark Cornell Manning, International Conference on Field-Flow Fractionation, Dresden, Germany, May 2016. This work has now been submitted for publication in the journal, Pharmaceutical Research

Ryan Manning will also present a poster on “AF4-MALLS Analysis of Surfactant Prorein-D” at the International Conference on Field-Flow Fractionation, to be held in South Carolina in April, 2018.